What is it?

November 30, 2009 at 4:18 PM (PRCA 3339)

As I have come to realize public relations is hard to define. Everytime I return home there is always someone that asks me what my major is. 9 times out of 10 they ask what it is or what I can do with it. I know myself that public relations is a broad field and there are many different routes a person can take. I know that public relations is communication between an organization/company and the public, but even after saying that people still seem to be confused about what it is that public relations professionals do.

When people ask me what I want to do with my degree most of the time I say that I am unsure. Because public relations is such a broad field I am not completely sure which aspect of public relations best suits me. I want to attain an internship while I am still in school and hopefully gain some expereince in the field and get a better understanding of what it is that I want to do. I have found recently that I do like the design aspect of public relations after doing a brochure for a “client” for my PR Publications¬†class. I liked learning about the adobe programs and found myself actually liking to work with and play with the program to make my brochure.

As I have said repeatedly public relations is a broad field and while I may be unsure of which route I want to take I do think that this is the right major for me. So far I have found it fun and have learned that it is possible to be very diverse. I am so excited about my future in public relations!

Leave a Reply

