Photography

October 25, 2009 at 11:10 PM (PRCA 3339)

For our fourth blog post in PR Publications we had to take a free course on the news university website. We took “The Language of the Image” which taught us about photography and how different things can tell the reader something about the photo. An image can help tell a story or provide information. Those are the types of things that were taught in this online course.

While I did learn how images can be affected by different things or the image itself can also affect the reader I think that the vocabulary for me was the most interesting. I guess you could say they are photography terms. They are words that could be an element of a photo. Examples of these words include: impact, juxtaposition, quality of light, surprise, and others. For me personally I also used a dictionary for help with the meaning of juxtaposition which means the act or an instance of placing two or more things side by side.

The thing that surprised me the most was that the course, while obviously not time-consuming, but helpful was FREE! The News University also offered many other helpful courses. Photography was the focus of the course I took, but while I was using it I really couldn’t believe it was free. I have, in the past, been to websites that attain helpful information like this one, but they were not free.

I know I said that I learned a lot of photography lingo from the vocabulary offered from the course, but I also think that I would want to learn more about that as well. There were many pictures shown that did let you know what element was being used (the vocabulary term), but the actual definition was not given. I had to use context clues to figure out most of the meanings because not all of the terms were single word terms, some were more like phrases.

Overall I did enjoy the course and I will more than likely remember my username and password and try out some other courses.

Leave a Reply

