PR Professional Interview

April 8, 2009 at 5:11 PM (Assignments, PR Connections)

There aren’t many people that say that they don’t like to travel. One of my biggest dreams is to travel all over and experience this huge world to the fullest. This is why I chose a travel bureau for my Public Realtions professional interview. Maybe Milledgeville, Georgia doesn’t sound quite as exciting or exoctic like other locations, but this is a city of lots of history. The company I chose is The Milledgeville Georgia Convention and Visitors Bureau. This company helps people in planning for any kind of business whether it be for  business needs or just to learn more about Milledgeville. It offers all kinds of information from local events to water, trash, and sewage information. This company is completely in tune with the city of Milledgeville and offers an array of any information needed. http://www.milledgevillecvb.com/

The person I conducted my interview with was Heather Kennedy. Heather is a 2003 graduate of Georgia College and State University. She has her B.S. in Public Relations, but she did tell me it took her a couple of times to find the right major for her. Whe nshe first entered college she was a psychology major and then took a complete 180 and went for pre-vet. In the end Heather chose the right major for her future and went with public relations. She is now the event coordinator at The Milledgeville Georgia Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Here are some more questions asked:

  • Did your education prepare you for your career in public relations? “For the most part yes. I loved the classes because it wasn’t stressful. There weren’t many tests, which I liked very much. I would have to say that my internships were the most helpful. I took about 300 hours for internships (which included 3 practicums). The internships were helpful because you got to experience pretty much every aspect of public relations. It really helped me to decided with path I wanted to take after graduation.”
  • What is your typical work week like? Is it well scheduled? “My typical work week is not a perfect routine. Everyday is different. I never really know what I will be doing next, and that can be exciting”
  • Is writing important with your job? “I use writing quite a bit with my job. I do occasional press releases and I also help with my company’s website.”
  • What has surprised you the most about the public relations field? “How broad this field is! I started to realize all the different options and opportunities I had while starting my internships. there are so many different roads you can take with this degree. It’s amazing!”
  • What tip(s) would you give to someone like me starting out in Public Relations? “Network, network, network! Whether it be a business card or resume. Keep something with you that you can hand out. You never know who you will meet in this field or when a great opportunity will arise.”
  • When someone is looking to be hiried for an entry-level PR position, what does your company look for the most? “Like I said before, someone that networks. If you are confident in yourself and put yourself out there it shows others that you are someone that would be great for this company.”

After my interview with Heather I feel completely confident that I chose the right career path for me. I loved how she felt it was so broad and she really made me excited about starting internships in the future. I am extremely excited about my future and can not wait to really get started!!!

Leave a Reply

